Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie

Salman RushdieSalman Rushdie is the author of eight novels: Grimus, Midnight’s Children (which was awarded the Booker Prize and the “Booker of Bookers” for the best novel to have won the prize in its first 25 years), Shame, The Satanic Verses, Haroun and the Sea of Stories, The Moor’s Last Sigh, The Ground Beneath Her Feet, and Fury. He is also the author of a book of stories, East, West, and three works of non-fiction - Imaginary Homelands, The Jaguar Smile, and Step Across This Line. He is the co-editor of Mirrorwork, an anthology of contemporary Indian writing, and last year adapted Midnight’s Children for the stage. It was performed in London and New York by the Royal Shakespeare Company.

A Fellow of the British Royal Society of Literature, Salman Rushdie has received, among other honours, the Whitbread Prize for Best Novel (twice), the Writers’ Guild Award, the James Tait Black Prize, the European Union’s Aristeion Prize for Literature, Author of the Year Prizes in both Britain and Germany, the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger, the Budapest Grand Prize for Literature, the Mantova Prize in Italy, the Austrian State Prize for European Literature and the London International Writers’ Award. He holds honorary doctorates at six European and three American universities and is an Honorary Professor in the Humanities at M.I.T. He has received the Freedom of the City in Mexico City and Strasbourg and the Edgerton Prize of the American Civil Liberties Union, and holds the rank of Commander in the Order of Arts and Letters - France’s highest artistic honour. In 2004 he was elected President of PEN American Center.

His books have been translated into forty languages.

Home   About Us
Art   Books   Dance   Fashion   Film   Music   Theatre